You have questions?
We have answers!

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Pro FIT HTA Phase II

Exploiting the potential of additive manufacturing to optimize gas turbine components for high-temperature applications.

Details
To
Project

sponsored by the state of Berlin

At one glance

Project start: January 2023
Duration: 2,5 years
Funded with: approx. 8 Mio. €
Number of partners: 11
Location Huttenstraße

Christoph Heinze, Siemens Energy

Project Management

Cynthia Wirth, Siemens Energy

Project Management

Insights into our work

Milestones

Here we document important milestones from the project. Current news, special publications or appearances at trade fairs and congresses are made visible here.

JAN

2024

NEWS

1st milestone meeting

First milestone meeting “check”. We met at BAM on 25.01.24 for our first project review with IBB and the experts from VDI/VDE. It was a successful day, which shows that we are working in a productive team on interesting tasks such as process development, post-processing, simulation, life cycle analysis, recycling, etc.

JAN

2024

NEWS

1st milestone meeting

First milestone meeting “check”. We met at BAM on 25.01.24 for our first project review with IBB and the experts from VDI/VDE. It was a successful day, which shows that we are working in a productive team on interesting tasks such as process development, post-processing, simulation, life cycle analysis, recycling, etc.

2023

NEWS

HTA2 Deep Dives

Within the first months of the project, deep dives were carried out in our workstreams “Materials & Processes”, “Post-Processing” and “Sustainable Product Development” for the entire consortium. The aim was to describe the main fields of work and objectives of the 12 work packages and to encourage an exchange between the workstreams. Around 25 participants at each of the three sessions took advantage of this opportunity for networking and coordination, paving the way for the first milestone meeting in January 2024.

2023

NEWS

HTA2 Deep Dives

Within the first months of the project, deep dives were carried out in our workstreams “Materials & Processes”, “Post-Processing” and “Sustainable Product Development” for the entire consortium. The aim was to describe the main fields of work and objectives of the 12 work packages and to encourage an exchange between the workstreams. Around 25 participants at each of the three sessions took advantage of this opportunity for networking and coordination, paving the way for the first milestone meeting in January 2024.

JUL

2023

NEWS

Kick-Off

On July 11, 2023, the partners, IBB and the review team met to get to know each other and get an overview of the Phase II roadmap. Research topics include design for additive manufacturing, life cycle analysis, process and material development, robotic post-processing, FEM simulations, high-energy synchrotron experiments, powder/support structure recycling, and more.

JUL

2023

NEWS

Kick-Off

On July 11, 2023, the partners, IBB and the review team met to get to know each other and get an overview of the Phase II roadmap. Research topics include design for additive manufacturing, life cycle analysis, process and material development, robotic post-processing, FEM simulations, high-energy synchrotron experiments, powder/support structure recycling, and more.

With us:

Voices from the project

In the project, BAM is developing new methods for in-situ quality assurance and an understanding of microstructure development and creep behavior. In this way, we are contributing to the safe and reliable use of AM components.

Kai Hilgenberg

Project manager HTA at BAM

Additively manufactured components are often not immediately ready for use after printing. Fraunhofer IPK is therefore conducting intensive research into automated post-processing in order to enable production with the highest possible efficiency in batch size 1, even for the most complex geometries.

Tobias Neuwald

Project manager HTA at Fraunhofer IPK

The project in pictures

Gallery

Science, research and education

About the project

Following the successful completion of HTA2.0 at the end of 2022, the 2nd phase will start in January 2023 with a duration until June 2025. Here, we welcome new partners within the HTA network and look forward to working together.

 

What it’s all about
High-temperature applications involve the development and production of components that come into contact with the hot gas jet, which reaches temperatures of well over 1000 degrees Celsius, in high-efficiency gas-fired power plants. To ensure their function and service life, additive manufacturing is used to implement innovative concepts that are not technically feasible using conventional manufacturing processes.

 

Aims of the research project
Development of new additive manufacturing processes and components for high-temperature components in large gas turbines, taking into account sustainable product development.

Motivation

The focus of the 2nd phase is the extension of the Design for Additive Manufacturing method with further processes (wire-based generation of large components DED-Arc, selective laser beam melting with high-temperature preheating and selective electron beam melting PBF-EB/M in powder bed) and the aspect of life cycle analysis (LCA). In this context, process and material development for the DED-Arc and PBF-EB/M processes will be brought to a higher level of maturity.

Furthermore, the topic of post-processing of additively manufactured components is being given greater attention in order to enable automated and small-series processing. In addition, the recycling of metal powders and support structures will be highlighted, with the aim of achieving greater resource efficiency and thus contributing to the economic presentation of AM components.

The consortium

Project Partner

The “Werner-von-Siemens Centre for Industry and Science” ecosystem is a colorful mix of renowned scientific institutions and universities, excellent industry, innovative SMEs and agile, young companies. They all combine their expertise in a future-oriented research cooperation.

 

The project partners are:

  • Siemens Energy
  • Bundesamt für Materialforschung und -prüfung
  • Fraunhofer
    • Fraunhofer-Institut für Produktionsanlagen und Konstruktionstechnik
  • Technische Universität Berlin
    • FG Methoden der Produktentwicklung und Mechatronik
    • FG Werkstofftechnik
    • FG Werkzeugmaschinen und Fertigungstechnik
    • FG Keramische Werkstoffe
    • FG Metallische Werkstoffe
    • FG Numerik der Nichtlinearen Optimierung
    • FG Numerische Mathematik
    • FG Service-centric Networking
    • FG Industrielle Informationstechnik
    • FG Industry Grade Networks and Clouds
  • Siemens
  • Gestalt Robotics
  • YOUSE
  • Datalyze Solutions
  • PROCEED Labs
  • 3YOURMIND
  • XPLORAYTION

The Werner-von-Siemens Centre for Industry and Science e.V. is supported by federal and state funds within the framework of the Joint Task “Improvement of the Regional Economic Structure” (GRW).

 

Our projects are co-financed by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF).

Du hast Fragen?
Wir haben Antworten!

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Pro FIT HTA Phase II

Nutzung des Potenzials der additiven Fertigung zur Optimierung von Gasturbinenkomponenten für Hochtemperaturanwendungen

Details
Zum
Projekt

gefördert durch das Land Berlin

Auf einen Blick

Projektstart: Januar 2023
Laufzeit: 2,5 Jahre
Gefördert mit: ca. 8 Mio. €
Anzahl Partner: 11
Standort Huttenstraße

Christoph Heinze, Siemens Energy

Projektleitung

Cynthia Wirth, Siemens Energy

Projektleitung

Einblicke in unsere Arbeit

Meilensteine

An dieser Stelle dokumentieren wir wesentliche Meilensteine aus dem Projekt. Aktuelle Neuigkeiten, besondere Veröffentlichungen oder Auftritte auf Messen und Kongressen machen wir hier sichtbar.

JAN

2024

NEUES

1. Meilensteintreffen

Erstes Meilensteintreffen „check“. Wir haben uns am 25.01.24 an der BAM für unseren ersten Projektreview mit der IBB und den Gutachtern der VDI/VDE getroffen. Es war ein gelungener Tag, der zeigt, dass wir in einem produktiven Team interessante Aufgaben wie Prozessentwicklung, Nachbearbeitung, Simulation, Lebenszyklusanalyse, Recycling etc. vorantreiben.

JAN

2024

NEUES

1. Meilensteintreffen

Erstes Meilensteintreffen „check“. Wir haben uns am 25.01.24 an der BAM für unseren ersten Projektreview mit der IBB und den Gutachtern der VDI/VDE getroffen. Es war ein gelungener Tag, der zeigt, dass wir in einem produktiven Team interessante Aufgaben wie Prozessentwicklung, Nachbearbeitung, Simulation, Lebenszyklusanalyse, Recycling etc. vorantreiben.

2023

NEUES

HTA2 Deep Dives

Innerhalb der ersten Projektmonate wurden in unseren Workstreams „Material & Prozesse“, „Post-Processing“ und „Nachhaltige Produktentstehung“ Deep Dives für das gesamte Konsortium durchgeführt. Es sollten die wichtigsten Arbeitsfelder und Ziele der 12 Arbeitspakete beschrieben und ein Austausch zwischen den Workstreams angeregt werden. Um die 25 TeilnehmerInnen bei jeder der drei Sessions nutzten diese Möglichkeit zur Vernetzung und Abstimmung, so dass der Weg für das erste Meilensteintreffen im Januar 2024 geebnet worden ist.

2023

NEUES

HTA2 Deep Dives

Innerhalb der ersten Projektmonate wurden in unseren Workstreams „Material & Prozesse“, „Post-Processing“ und „Nachhaltige Produktentstehung“ Deep Dives für das gesamte Konsortium durchgeführt. Es sollten die wichtigsten Arbeitsfelder und Ziele der 12 Arbeitspakete beschrieben und ein Austausch zwischen den Workstreams angeregt werden. Um die 25 TeilnehmerInnen bei jeder der drei Sessions nutzten diese Möglichkeit zur Vernetzung und Abstimmung, so dass der Weg für das erste Meilensteintreffen im Januar 2024 geebnet worden ist.

JUL

2023

NEUES

Kick-Off

Am 11.07.2023 kamen die Partner, die IBB und das GutachterInnen-Team zusammen, um sich kennen zu lernen und einen Überblick zum Fahrplan der Phase II zu erhalten. Die Forschungsthemen enthalten unter anderem Design for Additive Manufacturing, Lebenszyklus-Analyse, Verfahrens- und Werkstoffentwicklung, robotergestützte Nachbearbeitung, FEM-Simulationen, hochenergetische Synchrotron-Experimente, Pulver-/Stützstrukturrecycling uvm. 

JUL

2023

NEUES

Kick-Off

Am 11.07.2023 kamen die Partner, die IBB und das GutachterInnen-Team zusammen, um sich kennen zu lernen und einen Überblick zum Fahrplan der Phase II zu erhalten. Die Forschungsthemen enthalten unter anderem Design for Additive Manufacturing, Lebenszyklus-Analyse, Verfahrens- und Werkstoffentwicklung, robotergestützte Nachbearbeitung, FEM-Simulationen, hochenergetische Synchrotron-Experimente, Pulver-/Stützstrukturrecycling uvm. 

Mit dabei:

Stimmen aus dem Projekt

Die BAM entwickelt im Vorhaben neue Methoden für die in-situ Qualitätssicherung sowie ein Verständnis von Mikrostrukturentwicklung und Kriechverhalten. Damit leisten wir einen Beitrag zum sicheren und zuverlässigen Einsatz von AM-Bauteilen.

Kai Hilgenberg

Projektleiter HTA der BAM

Nach dem Druck sind additiv gefertigte Bauteile oft nicht direkt einsatzfähig. Am Fraunhofer IPK wird daher intensiv an der automatisierten Nachbearbeitung geforscht, um selbst bei komplexesten Geometrien eine Herstellung mit höchstmöglicher Effizienz in Losgröße 1 zu ermöglichen.

Tobias Neuwald

Projektleiter HTA des Fraunhofer IPK

Das Projekt in Bildern

Galerie

Wissenschaft, Forschung und Bildung

Über das Projekt

Im Anschluss an den erfolgreichen Abschluss von HTA2.0 zu Ende 2022 startet die 2. Phase zum Januar 2023 mit einer Laufzeit bis Juni 2025. Hierbei dürfen wir neue Partner innerhalb des HTA-Verbundes begrüßen und freuen uns auf die Zusammenarbeit. 

 

Um was es geht
Hochtemperatur-Anwendungen umfassen die Entwicklung und Fertigung von Bauteilen, die in hocheffizienten Gaskraftwerken mit dem heißen Gasstrahl, der Temperaturen von weit über 1000 Grad Celsius erreicht, in Berührung kommen. Um deren Funktion und Lebensdauer zu gewährleisten, werden mittels additiver Fertigung innovative Konzepte umgesetzt, die mit konventionellen Fertigungsverfahren technisch nicht realisierbar sind.

 

Ziele des Forschungsprojekts
Entwicklung neuer additiver Fertigungsprozesse und Komponenten für Hochtemperaturbauteile in großen Gasturbinen unter Beachtung von nachhaltiger Produktentstehung. 

Motivation

Der Fokus der 2. Phase ist die Erweiterung der Design for Additive Manufacturing-Methode mit weiteren Prozessen (drahtbasiertes Generieren von großen Bauteilen DED-Arc, selektives Laserstrahlschmelzen mit Hochtemperaturvorheizung und selektives Elektronenstrahlschmelzen PBF-EB/M im Pulverbett) und dem Aspekt Lebenszyklus-Analyse (LCA). Dabei werden für das DED-Arc- und PBF-EB/M-Verfahren Prozess- und Werkstoffentwicklung zu höherer Reife geführt. 

Im Weiteren wird das Thema Nachbearbeitung von additiv gefertigten Bauteilen stärker beleuchtet, um automatisierte und kleinserientaugliche Bearbeitung zu ermöglichen. Zudem wird das Recycling von Metallpulver und Stützstrukturen beleuchtet, wobei eine höhere Ressourceneffizienz angestrebt wird  und somit einen Beitrag zum wirtschaftlichen Darstellen von AM-Bauteilen liefert. 

Das Konsortium

Projektpartner

Im Ökosystem „Werner-von-Siemens Centre for Industry and Science“ findet sich ein bunter Mix aus renommierten Wissenschafts-einrichtungen und Universitäten, exzellenter Industrie, innovativen KMUs und agilen, jungen Unternehmen. Sie alle vereinen ihre Expertisen zu einer zukunftsorientierten Forschungskooperation.

 

Zu den Partnern dieses Projekts gehören:

  • Siemens Energy
  • Bundesamt für Materialforschung und -prüfung
  • Fraunhofer
    • Fraunhofer-Institut für Produktionsanlagen und Konstruktionstechnik
  • Technische Universität Berlin
    • FG Methoden der Produktentwicklung und Mechatronik
    • FG Werkstofftechnik
    • FG Werkzeugmaschinen und Fertigungstechnik
    • FG Keramische Werkstoffe
    • FG Metallische Werkstoffe
    • FG Numerik der Nichtlinearen Optimierung
    • FG Numerische Mathematik
    • FG Service-centric Networking
    • FG Industrielle Informationstechnik
    • FG Industry Grade Networks and Clouds
  • Siemens
  • Gestalt Robotics
  • YOUSE
  • Datalyze Solutions
  • PROCEED Labs
  • 3YOURMIND
  • XPLORAYTION

Das Werner-von-Siemens Centre for Industry and Science e.V. wird im Rahmen der Gemeinschaftsaufgabe ,,Verbesserung der regionalen Wirtschaftsstruktur” (GRW) mit Bundes- und Landesmitteln gefördert.

 

Unsere Projekte werden kofinanziert durch den Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE).